Sunday, April 9, 2017

Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty: Background and Current Developments

As of August 2016, 183 states had signed the CTBT and 164, including Russia, had ratified it. However, entry into force requires ratification by 44 states specified in the treaty, of which 41 had signed the treaty and 36 had ratified. India, North Korea, and Pakistan have not signed the treaty. The United States has not ratified it.
Nine conferences have been held to facilitate entry into force, every other year, most recently on September 29, 2015. In years between these conferences, some foreign ministers meet to promote entry into force of the CTBT. A ministerial meeting was held on June 13, 2016, to commemorate the 20th anniversary of the signing of the CTBT.
This Congressional Research Service Report RL33548 published in September 2016 discusses the negotiation and agreement of the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty CTBT; the contents of the treaty; the implications of ratification or non-ratification; and political forces in the United States which are blocking US ratification.

Purchase at Amazon                                                          Purchase at eStore